Exzellenz Awards 2018
We would like to thank the Demografie Exzellenz Awards 2018 judging panel for awarding Grannyguard 1st prize in the category ‘Innovative and Digital’.


Image

DANGERS


Image
Image

Risk of falling and incapacity


One result of current demographic change is an aging population. People are living longer and in old age increasingly suffer from dementia or require care for other reasons in old age. Diverse statistics, literature, studies and dissertations can be found on the devastating effects of falls in older people. More than 75% of accidental deaths at home in those over 65 years of age are caused by falls (e.g. 6,245 deaths in 2012). Grannyguard can independently detect that a person has had an accident and immediately call for help.

Image

Harmful indoor environment & dangerous low temperatures


Suboptimal heating and ventilation can be harmful to health and even lead to life-threatening situations. They can also cause lung damage. Those who are confused or suffer from dementia may also forget to close a window after airing a room, which can have fatal consequences in a very cold winter.

Grannyguard can also detect this.
Image

Fire hazards


The greatest source of danger in the kitchen is the cooker. If not turned off after use, it can result in a dangerous fire triggering any smoke alarms to signal a fire acoustically. The resident will then react depending on their hearing and circumstances. We are working so that Grannyguard can recognize a triggered smoke alarm and then respond accordingly.
Image

Immobility / Recognition of inactivity


An alarm can be triggered should there be no activity between set time frames (e.g. bedroom 7-9am and 9:30-11:30pm). Of course these times can be configured differently for workdays and the weekend.

Unusual situations will therefore be responded to quickly.

GRANNYGUARD PROTECTS

Helps without Interaction

Image

The best operating system: Runs itself


An assistance system should work discreetly in the background 24/7 without any interaction. Unobtrusiveness is an important requirement. The resident should feel safe and not unsettled or even under surveillance.


Smart sensors in a light switch


Grannyguard was designed to substitute a light switch and can be integrated into DIN 49073 connector sockets. An installation depth of only 32mm is necessary, so there’s no need for an electrician to install a switchbox deep in the wall (thereby avoiding dusty and loud installation work). Grannyguard contains a switch and high quality relay so the ceiling light can be operated as before. Both on/off switches and self-resetting push-buttons can be incorporated.

Image

Fall prevention / avoidance


In order to prevent falls at night, an integrated light sensor switches on a small floor light when movement is detected in the dark.

Communication / Hands-Free System

Speak with loved ones straight away and know that help is coming!
Image
Image
Image
Image

Behind the scenes – How does it work?

The sensor principle

When it comes to fall detection, the sensor principle is 100% passive, that means no energy is emitted: no radio waves, no light and no sound. Only the thermal energy radiated from people is collected and intelligently analysed. Pets are taken into account and will not trigger an alarm.
Grannyguard covers an entire room:

  • Horizontal opening angle: 170°
  • Range: approx. 5m

Smart and secure

In Germany, privacy protection is taken from the general right of privacy in the constitution. Furthermore, both the privacy of the home and confidentiality of communications are legally binding and of course apply for senior citizens. Because of this, Grannyguard does not use a camera; rather it only records a limited number of temperatures around the room. Gestures and body parts cannot be recognised.
In the case of an alarm, text messages are sent and voice calls established. The user is in control of who receives these as he configures all telephone numbers.

Sensor data never leaves the device while it is in normal operating mode. All radio modules are turned off not only to save energy. Grannyguard is as vulnerable to attack by criminals as a light switch – that is, not at all.

No Internet – No Cloud.

Downloads / Technical Details

The company

Why Grannyguard?

Your parents are often at home alone. They could fall and you worry what would happen as dangers to health or even fatal situations can arise.

The most important thing is that help is called at once!!

Conventional emergency call systems only make sense if their correct and active operation can be ensured and is possible. Until now, only passive home emergency call systems that have to be operated manually existed. But that’s not always possible because the person involved may be confused, suffer from dementia or even be unconscious. And besides this, most falls happen at night on the way to the toilet when the emergency button is most often on the bedside table so help is out of reach. In contrast, an active emergency call system, which can detect a fall or critical situation itself – day or night – can help trigger an alarm for you even if you’re not able to. Grannyguard is exactly such an active emergency call system. Grannyguard detects when you have fallen, immediately sends an SMS to a previously arranged helper, such as your children or friends, and then telephones them, or other trusted people, without delay..


Grannyguard has won numerous international awards. It is almost invisible, as it hides itself in a light switch so protecting an entire room.


Image
Lothar Feige
pikkerton GmbH
CEO
 

Smart sensors in a
light switch

The Berlin-based pikkerton GmbH

We at pikkerton GmbH are a Berlin-based, owner-operated electronics company founded in 2004. We have been developing, designing, producing and selling electronic equipment and systems for many years and involved in radio-based sensor systems in various markets such as Smart Energy / Smart Grid, industrial monitoring and systems for the so-called AAL market since 2007. Active Assisted Living means electronic assistance systems in the main for elderly people. The aim of these systems is to enable parents and grandparents to live in their familiar surroundings for longer and more safely.

Image Image

Awards

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

We won the Berlin Deep Tech Award 2015 with Grannyguard in December 2015.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

We won the Elektra Award 2016 in the category ‘Excellence in Product Design (Medical)’ together with our partner Panasonic.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

Grannyguard was awarded ‘Highly Commended’ in the category ‘Award for Interior Product (building product)’ on 01.11.2017.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

The German Stevie Awards presented us with a prize on 23.02.2017.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

We received first prize at the Demografie Exzellenz Awards on 10.10.2018 in the category ‘Innovative & Digital’.

Press

FAQ

AVAILABILITY AND FEATURES

Grannyguard Home

Independent living at home / Outpatient care

Sensor technology / Analysis

  • Fall detection
  • Inactivity and absence from a room, configurable time frames
  • Detection of dangerous cold temperatures and heat development
  • Automatic night and ceiling lighting

Configuration / Management / Alarms

  • Web-based via browser (WiFi)
  • SMS
  • Integrated hands-free system, configurable voice calls for up to 5 users in any desired order

Grannyguard Professional

Retirement homes / Inpatient care

Sensor Technology / Analysis

  • Fall detection
  • Continual inactivity, absence
  • Detection of dangerous cold temperatures and heat development
  • Movement patterns such as getting out of bed, configurable time frames
  • Automatic night and ceiling lighting

Configuration / Management / Alarms

  • Central platform, structured view of all devices, dashboard
  • SMS
  • Interfacing with VoIP telephone systems / SIP servers
  • Backend systems / platform via HTTP/MQTT, Verklizan UMO etc.

Grannyguard is for both home use and inpatient care

An online shop will shortly be available for private users. Please contact us direct for use in residential homes and inpatient care. Subscribe to our newsletter if you wish to receive updates from us.

Contact

 





Subscribe to newsletter

Image

Gefahren


Image
Image

Sturzgefahr und anschließende Hilflosigkeit


Aus dem demo­graphischen Wan­del resul­tiert eine immer älter werdende Bevöl­kerung. Die Men­schen werden älter und lei­den im höheren Alter häuf­iger an Demenz oder sind ander­weitig betreuungs­bedürftig. Zu den schlim­men Fol­gen von Stür­zen älterer Leute gibt es di­verse Statis­tiken, Literatur, Studien und Disser­tationen. So verster­ben mehr als 75% aller häuslich töd­lich Verun­fall­ten über 65 Jahre durch Stür­ze (z.B. 6.245 Tote im Jahr 2012).

Grannyguard kann verunfallte Menschen selbstständig erkennen und sofort Hilfe holen.

Image

Ungesundes Raumklima & bedrohliche Kälte


Sub­opti­males Heiz- oder Lüftungs­ver­halt­en können zu gesund­heits­gefähr­denden oder gar lebens­bedroh­lichen Situa­tionen führen. Dabei kann es zu Lungen­schädigungen kom­men. Ver­wirrte oder demente Men­schen könnten darüber hinaus durch­aus verges­sen, das Fen­ster nach dem Lüften zu schließen. Das kann im eis­igen Win­ter fata­le Fol­gen haben.

Grannyguard meldet auch dies.
Image

Gefahren durch Brände


Die größte Ge­fahren­quelle in der Kü­che ist der Herd. Wird er nach dem Koch­vorgang nicht abge­schaltet, so kann ein gefähr­licher Brand ent­stehen. Falls Rauch­melder instal­liert sind, wer­den diese aus­lösen und dies akustisch signal­isieren. Je nach Gehör und Zustand des Be­wohners kann dann reagiert werden.

Wir arbeiten daran, daß Grannyguard piepende Rauchmelder erkennt und auch dann entsprechend alarmiert.
Image

Regungslosigkeit / Erkennen ausbleibender Aktivität


Bleibt innerhalb eines Zeitfensters (z.B. Schlafzimmer 07:00-09:00h oder 21:30-23:30h) Bewegung aus, kann ein Alarm ausgelöst werden. Natürlich können diese Zeiten jeweils für Werktage und das Wochenende frei eingestellt werden.

Somit kann auf ungewöhnliche Situationen schnell reagiert werden.

Grannyguard schützt

Hilfe ohne Knopfdruck

Image

Das beste Bedienkonzept: Keins


Ein Assis­tenz­sys­tem soll­te im 24x7 Hinter­grund arbei­ten, ohne not­wen­dige Inter­aktion und frei von Stigmatisierung. Unauf­dringlich­keit ist eine wich­tige Anfor­derung. Der Be­wohner soll sich sicher und nicht verun­sichert oder gar über­wacht fühlen.


Intelligente Sensorik im Lichtschalterformat


Granny­guard wurde als Licht­schalter­ersatz konzi­piert. Die dazuge­hörige Norm ist die DIN 49200. Damit der Elek­triker keine neue, extra­tiefe Schalter­dose in die Wand bauen muß (dazu sind stau­bige und laute Installations­maßnahmen erfor­derlich), reichen 32mm Einbau­tiefe. Damit Sie Ihr Decken­licht nach wie vor ein- und ausschalten können, beinhaltet Grannyguard einen Taster und ein hochwertiges Relais. Sowohl Taster­betrieb als auch eine Ausschal­tung las­en sich damit realisieren.

Image

Sturzprävention / -vermeidung


Ein inte­grierter Hellig­keits­sensor schal­tet bei Dunkel­heit und erkann­ter Bewe­gung ein klei­nes Boden­licht an, um nächt­liche Stür­ze zu ver­meiden.

Kommunikation / Freisprecheinrichtung

Mit den Angehörigen sofort reden, und gewiß sein, daß Hilfe kommt!
Image
Image
Image
Image

Hinter den Kulissen – wie funktioniert es?

Sensorprinzip

Das Sensor­prinzip in Hin­blick auf die Sturz­erken­nung ist 100% passiv, das heißt es wer­den keiner­lei Ener­gien ausge­sendet: Keine Radar­wellen, kein Licht und kein Schall. Ledig­lich die vom Men­schen ausge­strahlte Wärme­energie wird durch hoch­empfind­liche Thermo­sensoren aufge­fangen und intel­ligent analy­siert. Haustiere werden berücksichtigt und lösenen keinen Alarm aus.

Grannyguard deckt einen kompletten Raum ab:

  • Horizontaler Öffnungswinkel: 170°
  • Reichweite: Ca. 5m

Smart und unangreifbar

Der Schutz der Privat­sphäre ist in Deutschland aus dem all­gemei­nen Persön­lich­keits­recht des Grund­gesetzes ablei­tbar. Weiter­hin sind sowohl die Unver­letzlich­keit der Woh­nung sowie das Post- und Fern­melde­geheim­nis recht­lich bin­dend und gelten selbst­verständ­lich auch für Senioren. Grannyguard beinhaltet daher keine Kamera, sondern misst nur wenige Temperatur­punkte im Raum. Weder Gesten noch Extremi­täten wer­den erkannt.
Im Alarm­fall werden Kurz­nachrich­ten versendet bzw. Sprach­anrufe aufgebaut. Wer diese erhal­ten soll, hat der Benutzer sel­ber in der Hand, in dem er alle Telefon­nummern einstel­len kann.

Niemals verlassen im normalen Betriebszustand Sensordaten das Gerät. Alle Funkmodule sind nicht nur aus Energiespargründen komplett ausgeschaltet. Grannyguard kann von Kriminellen also nur wie ein herkömmlicher Lichtschalter angegriffen werden - gar nicht.

Kein Internet - keine Cloud.

Downloads / Technisches

Unternehmen

Warum Grannyguard ?

Ihre El­tern sind oft allein zu­hause. Sie kön­nten stür­zen und Sie machen sich Sor­gen, was dann alles passieren kann, denn es könn­ten dabei gesund­heits- oder sogar lebens­bedroh­liche Situa­tionen ent­stehen.

Wich­tig ist, daß dann sofort Hil­fe gerufen wird!

Konventi­onelle Notruf­systeme sind sinn­voll, solange die kor­rekte und ak­tive Bedienung sicher­gestellt bzw. möglich ist. Bis­lang gibt es nur pas­sive Haus­notruf­systeme, die manuell bedient wer­den müssen. Das ist aber oft gar nicht mehr möglich, da die ver­unglückte Per­son verwirrt, dement oder sogar ohn­mächtig ist. Übrigens pas­sieren nachts auf dem Weg zur Toilet­te die meisten Stürze – genau dann liegen die Tas­ter aber oft auf dem Nachttisch, sodass in den meisten Fällen gar keine Hilfe gerufen werden kann. Ein aktives Not­ruf­system dagegen, das den Sturz oder die kritische Situation selbst erkennt – egal ob es gerade hell oder dunkel ist – kann Ihnen dabei helfen, auch dann einen Alarm auszulösen, wenn Sie dazu nicht mehr in der Lage sind. Genau so ein aktives Notrufsystem ist Grannyguard. Grannyguard erkennt, wenn Sie
stür­zen, schickt an zuvor hinter­legte Helfer, wie Ihre Kin­der oder Freunde, sofort eine SMS und ruft sie - oder andere ver­traute Per­sonen - unver­züglich an.


Grannyguard wurde mehrfach inter­national prämiert und ist quasi unsicht­bar, denn er versteckt sich in einem Lichtschalter und schützt so den gesamten Raum.


Image
Lothar Feige
pikkerton GmbH
Geschäftsführer
 

Intelligente Sensorik im
Lichtschalterformat

Die Berliner pikkerton GmbH

Wir, die pikkerton GmbH, sind ein 2004 gegrün­detes und inhaber­geführ­tes Berl­iner Elek­tronik­unter­nehmen. Seit vielen Jahren ent­wickeln, konstru­ieren, fer­tigen und ver­treiben wir elektro­nische Geräte und Sys­teme. Seit 2007 beschäf­tigen wir uns mit funk­basierten Sensor­systemen in verschie­denen Märkten wie Smart Energy / Smart Grid, indus­triel­lem Monito­ring sowie Sys­temen für den sogenan­nten "AAL"-Markt. Mit "Active Assisted Living" sind elek­troni­sche Assis­tenzsys­teme, meist für ältere Leute gemeint. Ziel dieser Sys­teme ist es, daß die Eltern oder Groß­eltern länger und sicherer in ihrer ver­trauten Um­gebung wohnen bleiben können.

Image Image

Auszeichnungen

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

Im Dezember 2015 gewannen wir mit unserem Grannyguard den Berliner Deep Tech Award 2015.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

In der Kategorie "Award for Interior Product (building product)" erlangte Grannyguard am 01.11.2017 die Auszeichnung "Highly Commended".

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

Gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Panasonic haben wir den Elektra Award 2016 in der Kategorie "Excellence in Product Design (Medical)" gewonnen.

Front Title

This is where the text for the front of your card should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

Back Title

Der deutschen Ableger der Stevie Awards hat uns am 23.02.2017 prämiert.

 

Presse

FAQ

Verfügbarkeit und Features

Grannyguard Home

Selbstbestimmtes Wohnen zuhause / Ambulante Pflege

Sensorik / Analyse

  • Sturzerkennung
  • Regungslosigkeit sowie ausbleibende Raumnutzung, zeitlich konfigurierbar
  • Erkennen von bedrohlicher Kälte und Hitzeentwicklung
  • Automatisches Orientierungslicht & Deckenlicht

Konfiguration / Gerätemanagement / Alarmierung

  • Web-basiert über Browser (WiFi)
  • SMS
  • Integrierte Freisprecheinrichtung, konfigurierbare Sprachanrufe an bis zu 5 Teilnehmer in beliebiger Reihenfolge

Grannyguard Professional

Seniorenresidenzen / Stationäre Pflege

Sensorik / Analyse

  • Sturzerkennung
  • Dauerhafte Inaktivität, Abwesenheit
  • Bedrohlicher Kälte, Hitzeentwicklung
  • Bewegungsmuster wie z.B. Bett-Exit, zeitlich konfigurierbar
  • Automatisches Orientierungslicht & Deckenlicht

Konfiguration / Gerätemanagement / Alarmierung

  • Zentrale Plattform, strukturierte Ansicht aller Geräte, Dashboard
  • SMS
  • Anschaltung an VoIP-Telefonanlage / SIP-Server
  • Backendsysteme / Plattformen über HTTP/MQTT, Verklizan-UMO, etc.

Grannyguard gibt es so­wohl für den Ein­satz zuhause als auch für den station­ären Be­reich.

Für den pri­vaten Ein­satz wird es in Kürze einen Web­shop geben. Für den Ein­satz in Senio­ren­resi­denzen bzw. stationärer Pflege kontak­tieren Sie uns bitte direkt. Bitte abon­nieren Sie unseren News­letter, wenn wir Sie über Neuigkeiten informieren dürfen.

Kontakt

 



Newsletter abonnieren